The Real Housewives of Melbourne

The Real Housewives of Melbourne (abbreviated as RHOMelbourne) is an Australian reality television series that premiered on 23 February 2014 on Arena. It was developed as one of the international versions of The Real Housewives, an American television series franchise. The series follows the lives of several women living in Melbourne, Australia.

Originally starring Gina Liano, Jackie Gillies, Andrea Moss, Janet Roach, Chyka Keebaugh and Lydia Schiavello, the series now features Gillies, Roach, Gamble Breaux, Anjali Rao, Cherie Dipietrantonio, Kyla Kirkpatrick and Simone Elliott. Of the original Housewives, Moss left in the first season, Keebaugh in the third, and Liano and Schiavello in the fourth. The rest of the housewives joined in later seasons. Brew joined in the second season, Rao, DiPietrantonio, Kirkpatrick and Elliott in the fifth season. Other housewives include Pettifleur Berenger (seasons 2-3), Susie McLean (season 3), Sally Bloomfield (season 4) and Venus Behani-Clarke (season 4).

Its success has enabled Matchbox Pictures to develop The Real Housewives franchise and similar spin-off series based in Sydney and Auckland, New Zealand.

Foxtel announced on 10 September 2019 that the show will be renewed for a fifth season and will air on Arena in 2020. This was later postponed to 2021 due to production delays caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Real Housewives of Melbourne was first announced by Matchbox Pictures as The Real Housewives of Australia, and was due to air in 2013[2]. On 28 July 2013, it was announced that the series had been renamed The Real Housewives of Melbourne, with a full cast of six women: Jackie Gillies, Chyka Keebaugh, Gina Liano Andrea Moss, Janet Roach and Lydia Schiavello. They were handpicked by the producers from a pool of over 100 women over a period of eight months. Filming for the series began in July 2013; the official cast photos and premiere date of 23 February 2014 were announced on 21 January 2014. At the time, the series was the second biggest local series launch after SoHo’s Wentworth.

Moss left the series after the first season.On 8 May 2014, the series was renewed for a second season.Foxtel’s executive director Brian Walsh said of the renewal, “‘The Real Housewives of Melbourne’ is a There is no doubt that The Real Housewives of Melbourne has been a game changer for Foxtel. The amazing response to Housewives, including the huge ratings, the huge social media response and the overall buzz surrounding the series, made the decision for the next season a very easy one”. Season 2 saw the addition of two newcomers, Gamble Blow and Pettifleur Belanger, and premiered on 22 February 2015. Manuela Pless-Bennett joined the series on a regular basis as Janet’s friend; Pless-Bennett appeared in interviews and attended reunions. Lisa Tonkin, a friend to his wife, made more frequent guest appearances throughout the season, returning to a guest role in the second and third seasons.

The series was then renewed for a third season. All of the housewives returned from the previous season, Susie McLean joined the cast, and Press-Bennett was gone. The third season premiered on February 21, 2016. Prior to the end of the third season, on 8 May 2016, original housewife Chaika Keebaugh confirmed that she would not be returning to the series.

On 11 May 2016, Lydia Schiavello revealed that there would be a fourth season, but that filming could be delayed due to filming The Real Housewives of Sydney first. A month later, in June 2016, Liano also confirmed that there would be a season four and that filming of the Sydney series would be delayed, saying, “The original girls are already out of contract. They have not yet been approached to renegotiate their contracts.” In December 2016, Season 4 was made official by Foxtel, who also reported that filming would begin in early 2017. on 29 April 2017, it was announced that Berenger would not be returning to the series On 17 May 2017, the cast for season 4 was announced, with Venus Behbahani-Clarke and Sally Bloomfield joining the show. This also confirmed the departure of Keebaugh, Berenger and McLean. However, Keebaugh did make a guest appearance in one episode of the fourth season.

In September 2019, Foxtel announced its fifth season, which will premiere in 2020.Foxtel executive Brian Walsh also confirmed that there will be a “major cast shake-up” in the upcoming fifth season.In February 2020, Bloomfield, Gillies & Co. In February 2020, Bloomfield, Gillies & Clarke announced that they would be leaving the show, while Schiavello confirmed that he would be returning. 19 February saw the announcement of the cast, with the return of Liano, Roach and Breaux, in addition to the previously confirmed Schiavello, as well as Anjali Rao, Kyla Kirkpatrick and Cherry Dipietrantonio. According to performer Janet Roach, Gillies was due to return to the show but has decided to leave to start a family and will be replaced.

Overview and Casting

The series documents the lives of six Greek women. The show aired in the midst of the Greek government debt crisis and faced criticism for the tone of life in luxury during tough economic times. Writing after the show was canceled, the New York Times commented that the show “barely lasted a season, and it doesn’t take long to see why.” The Greek adaptation had a keynote of depression that may have matched the public mood but did not provide viewers with a frothy escapism kick. Wealthy Greeks have not recently flaunted their lifestyle.